Shisha Sosei Chapter 11: The Eternal Necromancer

Previous
TOC
Next

“«Resurrection»”

“―I live again, yeah.”

Licht revived the dead Feyris a second time.

Again, she returned to life as if nothing had happened.

On her face was a refreshing expression that made it difficult to believe there had been a brutal fight just moments before.

“…? Something the matter, yeah? Licht?”

“No, it’s nothing.”

Licht distanced himself from Feyris by just one step.

Their skills made a perfect combination, but he decided that he would rather not witness that style of fighting if possible.

“We don’t know if there’ll be reinforcements coming. Let’s hurry up and get the job done.”

“Agreed, yeah.”

Feyris confirmed the current plan of action.

Licht searched around for the necromancer.

Or, more specifically, the necromancer’s tombstone.

As those entombed here were all people who had earned the title of ‘hero’, all of the names inscribed upon the graves were familiar.

There were not only former Braves, but also great sages and alchemists. Nothing but Great People who changed the course of history.

“―I got it. Over here.”

“…Here lies the Eternal Necromancer― yeah? The name is… Dorothy?”

“Yeah. «Resurrection»”

The Eternal Necromancer.

It was a title that carried a sense of finality, a declaration that there would never again be a necromancer to reach the same heights as this Dorothy.

One of the legends Licht had heard stated that this person could command over a thousand spirits of the dead at once.

At this moment, within the Graveyard of Heroes, a slender hand burst out of the earth.

“―Ough Cough! A little help here… anyone there?”

And so the legendary necromancer Dorothy was reawakened in a rather unbecoming state.

Unable to overcome the hard soil piled on top of her, Dorothy could free no more of her body beyond the one arm.

The scene of a frantically struggling arm poking out of the ground resembled the stereotypical zombie crawling out of its grave.

“Licht, do we help?”

“Obviously. Feyris, help me pull.”

Licht and Feyris grasped the protruding arm together and pulled forcefully.

It was no good. The dainty limb looked like it would snap in two if they pulled any harder.

***

“―Puh! …You know, maybe next time you should dig someone up before you bring them back to life?”

“I-I’m sorry…”

“Well you certainly should be. So, what do you want? Why have I been revived?”

Dorothy somehow managed a dignified aura despite being covered in dirt.

Apart from slight disappointment in the rough state of her apparel, she seemed cooperative.

Rather, she was more curious about her revival above any other concerns at the moment.

“I’ll get straight to the point. We want you to join our faction.”

“Alright― Ah, I’d like to ask about one more thing before that.”

She accepted way too easily.

Then, she pointed her question at Licht.

“You― you’re not a necromancer, are you? How was I brought back to life? I don’t sense any contract of servitude― no, in fact, I am not bound to you in any manner whatsoever.”

“Indeed I am not a necromancer. My skill «Resurrection» does not enforce obedience on the resurrected. However, I can also use it on myself…”

Licht left the last part ambiguous.

He had only seen it happen once and couldn’t be completely certain. And unlike Feyris, he had no mind to find out by experimenting.

Still, Dorothy seemed satisfied.

She listened to Licht with an amused expression.

“So you do possess similar abilities to myself. Although, it’s the first time I’ve heard of being able to revive oneself.”

“Master Licht is amazing, y’know.”

“Thanks…”

With that, Dorothy spoke up again and ended the digression.

“Well then, I’ll be your comrade in arms from now on, correct? Worry not, I’ll do my utmost to repay the favor of revival.”

“Appreciated. Alright, let’s head back to base before any reinforcements come.”

“Aye, yeah.”

And that was how the Legendary Necromancer, Dorothy, joined Licht’s party.


TL Note: I actually changed the story a little bit here. In the original, they straight up pulled Dorothy hard enough to drag her through several feet of dirt… which is incredibly stupid. Not all cultures use coffins in real life so I didn’t consider that to be an issue though.

Also, Dorothy refers to herself with boku.

Previous
TOC
Next

7 thoughts on “Shisha Sosei Chapter 11: The Eternal Necromancer

  1. once you get levels and magic, pulling someone through that much dirt isn’t that surprising. More to the fact if her arm was above ground, then that implies more than the elbow, so her head probably wasn’t more than 5-8inches down

    Like

  2. I do appreciate you being up front with saying how you’ve changed something. I was wondering why it was different from the manga. I don’t like it, but that’s just me being me, so nothing new there lol I def like to know that something has been changed, and this is quite a breath of fresh air compared to many translators/editors who aren’t exactly up front with how they do things. I do agree, though, that pulling someone through several feet of dirt is quite stupid. I’m not certain what the author was thinking here or if he was just skipping details, wanting to get the ball rolling as quickly as possible for the real meat and potatoes of the story.

    Either way, good jorb~ ^_^b

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment