Shisha Sosei Chapter 5: Reforming Dystopia

Previous
TOC
Next

“By the way, I recalle not thy name havinge receivede. They callen me Aria. Thou mayst me reveren as the Demon Lord of legend!”

“My name is Licht— wait, you really are the Demon Lord? Then those other four…”

“They aren my faithful servants. I have not mentionede before, but to thee again I wille thanks given for also them havinge revivede.”

Aria offered words of gratitude as such.

Licht had not had a chance to talk to them, but those four were apparently the Demon Lord’s companions.

From seeing the way they trusted Aria, Licht could tell that she must have been a formidable person.

Finally, Licht came to understand the significance of what he had done.

“But before anything else cometh the restoration of Dystopia. After a hundred years’ wear, it hath but a shell of its former self becomen.”

“Dystopia…? Are you referring to this dungeon?”

“Kennest thou not? In my prime, was this name the same as ‘death’ to adventurers’ ears. I have it quite sturdy built, so it wille our purposes well serven further yet.”

Aria ran her hand against the wall of the dungeon while speaking nostalgically about the past.

For a dungeon master, it must have been a source of joy simply seeing that one’s dungeon had survived for so long.

From now on, Licht would be helping to reconstruct this place as well.

Licht was not bothered by the contradiction of a former adventurer now building a dungeon.

Rather, he was simply excited at the thought of getting revenge on the human world.

“With all that said, what can I do to help? I mean, my strength is just that of a normal human?”

“Art thou the part of the fool playinge? When saide I that thou wilt been fightinge?”

Aria slapped Licht on the back.

“I desire thy ability. Been precise, there aren those with whom thy skill shareth great synergy. Thou needest not defenden any territories.”

“The territories you spoke of, those four you sent off are currently dealing with them all, then?”

Aria seemed to hesitate upon hearing Licht’s question but then nodded.

Of course, Licht was not convinced in the slightest by this answer.

Licht was well aware of the scale of this dungeon from having made the journey to the centre of Dystopia.

There was no way that only four people could manage to defend the entirety of the dungeon.

“Um… are those four going to be alright like this?”

“Hmm? Now that thou hast gespoken, they haven often the air of exhaustion. They saiden something about havinge not even the time to sleepen.”

“…well, I guess that’s to be expected.”

Wait, what?

The dungeon known as Death to adventurers, Dystopia, was apparently also a tremendously exploitative workplace.

To think that they were so busy dealing with adventurers to the extent that it ate into their sleeping hours.

Putting aside those four whose dedication to corporate slavery was almost praiseworthy, it was obvious to Licht that this situation would not be sustainable.

After all, the reason he died last time, wasn’t it partly because he had that sort of relationship with his party— but of course he couldn’t just say that out loud.

“Just once, I think it would be good to review everybody’s positions and see how they’re doing.”

“Is that so? Then Licht, thou shalt with them goen speaken.”

“Huh?”

In this way, Licht set off to investigate the Demon Lord’s four subordinates.

Today would be spoken of as the day on which the first reforms to Dystopia were laid down.

Previous
TOC
Next

10 thoughts on “Shisha Sosei Chapter 5: Reforming Dystopia

  1. I’m impressed by your dedication to the archaic English, but I also find it annoying to read tbh. Which is of little consequence for hobby translation if you enjoy doing it that way, but I thought I’d at least mention my opinion on the matter.

    I think there’s a certain discord between the light reading format and a strain of English that most modern speakers are unfamiliar enough with that making sense of it feels like a chore, even if they can do it easily enough. I think, even if less accurate, it is more suitable to the format to only “tag” the speech as archaic with a couple keywords like thou, with the rest modern.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I quite like how you’re translating Aria’s speech into Ye Olde English.
    Just added this to my reading list, although I’m a binge reader… so not sure if I’ll be back tomorrow, or in two months. Surely though, I’ll definitely return.

    Thanks for the chapters.

    Like

Leave a comment